UTPB Women's Basketball Place 9th in Lone Star Conference Poll

RICHARDSON - UT Permian Basin women's basketball was voted to finish ninth in the Lone Star Conference in a poll conducted by coaches, sports information directors and media, the conference announced Wednesday.

Rae Boothe returns for her second season at the helm of the Falcons. In her first season in Odessa, Boothe's Falcons led the Lone Star Conference in turnover margin at 5.25 and placed five players in the top 11 in steals in the conference. Last season's squad had the second highest turnover differential and third most steals in school history. New to the bench this season is assistant coach Sam Brenner, who comes to the Falcons after serving as an assistant coach at Franklin Pierce University in New Hampshire.

The Falcons return three players from last season including leading scorer and senior Khali Pippins-Tryon. Pippins-Tryon finished 10th in the conference with 12.8 points per game and was fifth in the conference with 1.8 steals per game while being named a Lone Star Conference Honorable Mention at the end of the season. Also returning is senior Chynna Rivera who played in 20 games last season and sophomore Juliette Akinwole who spent the season as a redshirt.

This season the Falcons feature 12 new players, six of them incoming freshman and four from Desoto High School. The Falcons start the regular season on November 9 in Canyon, Texas when they take on Regis. They begin their home schedule against conference opponent Western New Mexico on December 8.

West Texas A&M is the favorite to claim the Lone Star Conference title, according to the 2018-19 LSC preseason women’s basketball poll announced Wednesday.

The league's preseason polls reflect the opinions of LSC head coaches and sports information directors, plus various media representatives from throughout the region.

WT earned 18 first-place votes for 324 points after sharing the LSC title and claiming the tournament crown with an overall record of 29-5 and 16-4 league mark last season. The Lady Buffs made the program's 24th overall and fifth straight appearance in the NCAA Division II Postseason with a run to the South Central Regional championship game.

Angelo State, who won a share of the LSC title last year, was second with seven top votes and 307 points. Tarleton State ranked third receiving four first-place votes and 279 points.

Texas A&M-Commerce was fourth with the two remaining top votes and 252 points. Eastern New Mexico was fifth with 199 points followed by Cameron sixth (177), Texas Woman’s seventh (154), and Midwestern State eighth (140). UT Permian Basin (98), Texas A&M-Kingsville (74), and Western New Mexico (42) completed the poll.

ASU’s Marquita Daniels claimed Preseason Player of the Year honors. She was the top choice on 10 of the 31 ballots cast.

Daniels, a senior guard from Atlanta, Georgia, was named LSC Player and Newcomer of the Year after leading ASU with 15.2 points and 3.4 assists per game. The first-team All-LSC performer led the league in steals and broke the school record with 103 last season.

The LSC has 11 teams set for this season and the competition should be as competitive as ever. The season begins in early November with LSC teams playing a double round robin league schedule, in which each team plays a home and away contest against each of the other teams to determine the LSC champion.

The LSC champion will be the regular season winner determined by league games, while the postseason tournament winner is designated as LSC Tournament Champion and earns the conference’s automatic qualification. The top eight teams in the final conference standings qualify for the postseason tournament set for March 7-10, 2019, at Dr Pepper Arena in Frisco, Texas.