Francis repeats as South Central Region Player of the Year

UT Permian Basin’s senior guard Daeshon Francis was named the D2CCA South Central Regional Men’s Basketball Player of the Year Monday (Mar. 12) for the second straight year, while Sammy Allen was named D2CCA South Central Region Second Team.

Francis, a 6-foot-2 guard from Indianapolis, Ind., takes home the D2CCA Regional Player of the Year honor in consecutive years, while also taking home the Lone Star Conference (LSC) Player of the Year each of the past two seasons. Francis averaged 21 points per game to lead the LSC in scoring and ended the regular season ranked fourth in the conference in rebounding at 7.8 per game. He showed his versatility by also dishing out 4.2 assists per game, sending back 19 blocks and swiping 51 steals, all second-best on the team. Francis scored in double-figures in every game this year and scored at least 20 points in 20 games and ended the year with nine double-doubles. He scored a school record 43 points Sunday night to help the Falcons advance to the South Central Region Finals in a four overtime, 130-124 win over Regis.

Allen led the way on the defensive end for UTPB, leading the Lone Star Conference with 11.7 rebounds per game and was named Lone Star Conference Defensive Player of the Year. The 6-2 senior leads the nation with 293 defensive rebounds and his 11.7 rebounds rank sixth nationally. Allen has taken over more of a roll on offense and leads UTPB with 149 assists. Allen recorded the first triple-double in team history against Arlington Baptist on January 8 and recorded his second of the season Sunday night with 19 points, 11 rebounds and 11 assists. He is the only player in UTPB history to average double-digit rebounds for a single-season. He is tied for first in UTPB history with 18 career double-doubles.

Francis was joined on the men’s all-region first-team by David Chavlovich (first-team LSC, West Texas A&M), DaVaunta Thomas (Player of the Year-Heartland Conference (HC), Arkansas-Fort Smith), Landon Goesling (first-team HC, St. Edward’s) and Dayon Goodman (Player of the Year-Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, Westminster (Utah).

Sports information directors from NCAA Division II South Central Region schools and conferences selected the D2CCA all-region teams. The process concludes with All-American selections announced later in the month.
Complete all-region teams are listed below:

2017-18 D2CCA NCAA Division II Men’s Basketball South Central Regional Team
First Team
Daeshon Francis, UT Permian Basin (G, Sr., Indianapolis, Ind.)
David Chavlovich, West Texas A&M (G, Sr., Arlington, Texas)
DaVaunta Thomas, Arkansas-Fort Smith (G, Sr., Tulsa, Okla.)
Landon Goesling, St. Edward’s (G, Jr., Bakersfield, Calif.)
Dayon Goodman, Westminster (Utah) (F, Sr., Salt Lake City, Utah)

Second Team
Ryan Quaid, West Texas A&M (F, Jr., Fort Collins, Colo.)
Sammy Allen, UT Permian Basin (F, Sr., Oakland, Calif.)
Dexter Sienko, Regis (F, Sr., Spokane, Wash.)
Brandon Sly, Adams State (G, Sr., Los Angeles, Calif.)
*Reggie Reid, Texas A&M-Commerce (G, Jr., Harlem, Ga.)
*Brennen Fowler, Lubbock Christian (F, Jr., Smyer, Texas)
* Ties for the second-team were not broken.

South Central Regional Player of the Year
Daeshon Francis, UT Permian Basin