Odessa College announces Drive to Success finalists

Odessa College student Ombola Agnes Omotoye accepts a $1,000 prize for accumulating the most Drive to Success Points. (Photo courtesy of Odessa College)

ODESSA -- Odessa College has announced the give finalists who have a chance to win a 2017 Ford Mustang as part of the Drive to Success program.

On Thursday both students and staff gathered in the lobby of the the Saulsbury Campus Center as they eagerly awaited the announcement.

Five students were then chosen randomly by a computer application and the names were then announced to the waiting crowd.

The 2017 Drive to Success finalists are Raquel Alvarez Mendoza, Briana Celeste Leyba, Anavel M. Flores, Manuel Mendoza and Mason Lynn Marshall.

One of the five students will be chosen as the winner next week at Taco Villa at the corner of 42nd Street and Grandview. CBS 7 will be live from the presentation.

Along with the finalists, three students were awarded for accumulating the most Drive to Success points during the school year.

Ombola Agnes Omotoye, the student with the most points totaling 131, received a check for $1000.Second place was Luz Ayleen Lopez, with 97 points, who received $100. Moa Louisa Lundquist, with 95 points, was awarded $50 for third place.